Sunday, October 26, 2014

Participants: Culminating Event for Bringing Balance to IMF Reform Debate

July 18-19, 2008

Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

  • Mr. Suerkul Abdybaly tegin, Deputy Chairman, National Bank of the Kyrgyz Republic
  • Dr. Mohan Agarwal, Senior Visiting Fellow, The Centre for International Governance Innovation
  • Dr. Jose Antonio Ocampo, Professor of Professional Practice in International and Public Affairs, Columbia University
  • Mr. Tom Bernes, Director of the Independent Evaluation Office, International Monetary Fund
  • Mr. Amar Bhattacharya, Director, Group of Twenty-Four
  • Dr. James Boughton, Chief Historian, International Monetary Fund
  • Dr. Ralph Bryant, Senior Fellow, Economic Studies and Global Economy and Development, Brookings Institute
  • Dr. Ariel Buira, Consultant; Former Director of the G24
  • Mr. Sarat Chandran,  Independent Evaluation Office, International Monetary Fund
  • Dr. Tarek Coury,  Lecturer in Economics at Oxford University, a Fellow in Economics at University College, Oxford, and Research Fellow at the Dubai School of Government
  • Dr. Roy Culpeper, President, The North-South Institute
  • Dr. Wendy Dobson, Professor at the Rotman School of Management, University of Toronto
  • Dr. Jo Marie Griesgraber, Executive Director, New Rules for Global Finance
  • Dr. Fan He, Professor, Chinese Academy of the Social Sciences
  • Dr. Meibo Huang,  Professor, Department of Economics, Xiamen University, PRC
  • Mr. John Hicklin,  Deputy Director, Independent Evaluation Office, International Monetary Fund
  • Mr. Chorobek Imashev, Deputy Director, Economic Policy Institute "Bishkek Consensus", Kyrgyz Republic
  • Dr. Harold James, Professor of International Affairs in the Woodrow Wilson School, Princeton University
  • Dr. Peter Kenen, Walker Professor of Economics and International Finance at Princeton University, Senior Fellow Council on Foreign Relations
  • Dr. Jan Kregel, Senior Scholar, Levy Economics Institute of Bard College
  • Dr. Johannes Linn, Executive Director of the Wolfensohn Center for Development, Brookings Institute
  • Dr. Domenico Lombardi, President of OXONIA, The Oxford Institute for Economic Policy
  • The Right Honorable Paul Martin, Former Prime Minister of Canada, Member of Parliament for LaSalle-Émard in Montreal, Quebec.
  • Dr. Paul Masson, Special Adviser, Bank of Canada. Research Fellow and Adjunct Professor at the Rotman School of Management, Research Affiliate at the National Bureau of Economic Research, and Research Fellow at the C. D. Howe Institute.
  • Dr. Terry Mckinley, Director of the Centre for Development Policy and Research, SOAS, University of London
  • Dr. Bessma Momani, Assistant Professor, University of Waterloo and  Senior Fellow at CIGI
  • Mr. John Murray, Deputy Governor of the Bank of Canada
  • Dr. Djoomart Otorbaev, Senior Adviser, European Bank for Reconstruction and Development
  • Dr. Sylvia Ostry, Distinguished Research Fellow, Munk Centre for International Studies, University of Toronto
  • Honorable Abderrahmane Ould Hama Vezaz, Minister of Finance, Mauritania
  • Dr. Jorge Patiño, Executive Director, IMF Toronto Centre
  • Mr. Randal Quarles, Managing Director, The Carlyle Group
  • Dr. Cyrus Rustomjee, Head of the Centre for Economic Training in Africa (CETA) in South Africa
  • Dr. Eric Santor, Research Adviser, International Department Bank of Canada
  • Mr. John Sewell, Senior Scholar, Woodrow Wilson Center
  • Dr. Brad Setser, Fellow, Council on Foreign Relations
  • Dr. Jomo Kwame Sundaram, Assistant Secretary General for Economic Development in the Department of Economic and Social Affairs of the UN
  • Mr. Marat Tazabekov, Director of the Economic Policy Institute "Bishkek Consensus", Kyrgyz Republic
  • Dr. Edwin M. Truman, Senior Fellow, Peter G. Peterson Institute for International Economics
  • Mr. Martin Weiss, Analyst in International Trade and Finance Foreign Affairs, Congressional Research Service, Library of Congress
  • Dr. Marion Williams, Governor, Central Bank of Barbados
  • Dr. John Williamson, Senior Fellow, Peter G. Peterson Institute for International Economics
  • Professor Ngaire Woods, Professor of International Political Economy, Director of the Global Economic Governance Programme, University College, University

Sponsored by the Centre for International Governance and Innovation

Related Links

Follow Us


Program Updates

  • Holding the IMF and Governments Accountable for Subsidy Reform
    July 17, 2014 
  • IMF Releases Preliminary Considerations for Lending Framework and Sovereign Debt
    June 20, 2014 
  • Development Groups Urge IMF to Protect Poor in Debt Workouts
    June 13, 2014 
  • Investing in Interns Initiative
    May 12, 2014 
  • Letter to Congress Urging IMF Reform (with Signatures)
    March 10, 2014 
  • IMF Makes Progress in Transparency
    March 07, 2014 
  • IMF Consultation - Triennial Surveillance Review
    February 25, 2014 
  • Insight into the Markets in Financial Instrument Directive (MiFID II)
    January 28, 2014 
  • Are Free Trade Agreements Undermining Financial Stability?
    January 23, 2014 
  • FSB Transparency Evolves; Leaves Information Gaps
    January 10, 2014 
  • New Rules Annual Report 2013
    December 16, 2013 
  • FSB Watch Workshop: Bring Civil Society Agenda to the FSB
    December 12, 2013 
  • Ensuring IMF Programs Reduce Poverty
    December 12, 2013 
  • Increasing Africa's Voice in the IMF: Sign-On Letter
    November 19, 2013 
  • Global Financial Governance & Impact: 2013 Overall Assessment
    October 30, 2013 

Share this page

Join Our Mailing List
For Email Newsletters you can trust